在嵌入式应用中,AndesCore™32位CPU核心是替换8位CPU的理想选择

8位处理器,已经存在了相当长的一段时间,从1970年代晚期原始的8008、早期Apple II的6502、在IBM个人计算机上安装的8088以及现今仍存在并驱动许多微处理器,非常长寿的8051均属之。然而,当今的嵌入式应用,正在寻求更强大的32位处理器,在电池长期不需充电或补充能量的状况下,处理大量新式计算、通讯及安全需求。例如电子货架标签,烟雾及二氧化碳检测器,芯片实验室,入侵检测,无钥匙进入系统等等。

只有一个32位架构的CPU,即AndesCore™系列高性能CPU核心,可以在众多32位架构的CPU核心中脱颖而出,它仅相当于8位CPU的大小,但提供强大的运算能力和高效能以达到这些嵌入式应用之需求,以满足这些嵌入式应用的需要。每个AndesCore CPU的AndeStar™指令集架构(ISA)都向前兼容,现今指令集架构已经发展到第三代(V3)。在以往的8位处理器上不具备的电源管理的功能,在AndeStar架构中是属于很普通的功能。以AndesCore N705为例,它具有PowerBrake的功能,可允许CPU频率进行动态调节。CPU可以在具有高负载的情况下发挥100%效能,然后在负载减轻时,按比例降低,最低可降到10%。除了CPU之外,还有很多节省电力的设计,可以和CPU周边的设备一起运作,包括已充分整合与验证过的IP AE210平台,这是都是早期的8位处理器所不具备的。

因为大多数嵌入式微处理器将其程序存储在on-chip flash或ROM中。因此,采用具有较高代码密度的CPU可以有效降低总体芯片成本。此外,普遍存在一种误解,认为8位处理器比32位处理器具有更小的代码大小。 AndeStar ISA的CoDense™技术与晶心科技高度优化的编译器,提供业界领先的精简代码尺寸。以Zigbee stack这个open-source为例。它在8051上需要50 KB,但在AndesCore N705上不到22 KB,节省了56%。

AndesCore N705的另一个功能是flash加速,因为嵌入式应用程序经常利用flash储存程序。8位处理器从flash提取程序时,一次仅能提取一个指令。FlashFetch™是AndesCore N705 的扩展功能,它从flash中一次预抓取少量的指令,这样可以减少读取flash的频率,读取flash是一项相当耗电的操作,因此,减少读取次数,可以降低功耗。此外,依CPU频率的不同,在FlashFetch上执行Coremark和DMIPS时,可提高分数30%到100%。

AndeStar架构CPU是替换8位处理器的理想选择的另一个原因是它的安全性。AndeStar具有一系列的安全功能以防范物理篡改和软件攻击。例如利用硬件堆栈保护的安全中断,指令、数据和地址加扰(scrambling),旁路攻击保护,以及错误植入攻击的侦测。安全中断机制提供保护合法程序的CPU状态(包括寄存器和程序堆栈)不受潜在恶意中断服务程序(ISR)的攻击,并且不影响合法中断ISR的实时响应。加扰功能则是保护从CPU接口经过的记忆体内容被攻击。功耗分析保护则是防止CPU执行时被黑客透过观察CPU能量使用特征(power use signature)来窃取程序机密讯息。错误植入攻击的侦测则是持续监控重要CPU状态的正确性来发现潜在的威胁。AndeStar架构还可阻止黑客从JTAG接口读取软件/固件。

只有累绩十年设计经验的AndesCore系列高性能32位CPU核心才能提供当今新兴大量嵌入式应用所需的低成本,低功耗和高安全性等要求。

AndesCore™ 32-bit CPU Cores Ideal for 8-bit CPU Replacement in Embedded Applications

From the original 8008 launched in the late 1970s to the 6502 that powered the early Apple II, to the 8088 that launched the IBM PC, and to the long-lived 8051 that powers many microcontrollers to this day, the 8-bit processor has had a long run. However, today's embedded applications are demanding more powerful 32-bit processors to handle a multitude of new computing, communications, and security requirements over long periods of time without battery recharge or energy harvesting. Examples include electronic shelf labels, smoke and CO2 detectors, lab on a chip, intrusion detection, keyless entry, and many more.

Only one 32-bit CPU architecture, the AndesCore™ series of high performance 32-bit CPU cores, among many, offers the silicon footprint of an 8-bit CPU, computation power, and energy efficiency to meet the need of these embedded applications. Each AndesCore CPU implements the backward-compatible AndeStar™ instruction set architecture (ISA), which is in its third generation (V3). Power management features not available on the older 8-bit CPUs are common in the AndeStar architecture. The AndesCore N705, for example, comes with a feature called PowerBrake that allows the CPU clock rate to be dynamically throttled. The CPU can be running at full 100% with a high processing load and then scale down to 10% when the load is lessened. In addition to the CPU, there are power savings features incorporated into the peripherals surround the CPU in the form of pre-integrated and pre-verified Platform IP AE210, something not incorporated in the earlier 8-bit processors.

Most embedded microcontrollers stored their programs in on-chip flash or ROM. As a result, adopting a CPU with higher code density leads to a lower total chip cost. A misconception is that 8-bit CPUs have more compact code size than 32-bit CPUs. AndeStar ISA's CoDense™ technology together with Andes highly optimized compiler offers the industry's leading compact code size. Take an open-source Zigbee stack as example. It requires 50 KB for 8051, but only needs less than 22 KB, a 56% reduction, for AndesCore N705.

Another feature for the AndesCore N705 is flash acceleration since embedded applications rely on flash for program storage. An 8-bit CPU fetches its program an instruction at a time from flash. An extension feature for the AndesCore N705 called FlashFetch™ holds a small number of instructions to eliminate the need to access them from flash, a power consuming operation. Depending on the CPU frequencies, running the Coremark and DMIPS benchmarks with FlashFetch can boost the score from 30 to over 100 percent.

Another AndeStar architecture capability that makes it ideal for 8-bit replacement is its extension features for physical security such as secure interrupt with hardware memory stacking, data and address scrambling, and differential power analysis protection. Secure interrupt protects the CPU states (including register file and program stack) of secure software (such as a crypto function) from the potential attack via a malicious ISR (interrupt service routine) without compromising the real-time response of harmless cooperative ISR's. Scrambling defends against attacks that target the interface between CPU and memory. Power analysis protection guards against hacking the program by observing the power use signature of the CPU. This is achieved by randomizing the execution cycles of the CPU to make it unintelligible to an attacker. The AndeStar architecture also blocks software/firmware attacks from hacking the JTAG interface.

Only the AndesCore series of high performance 32-bit CPU cores, designed in the past decade, can deliver low cost, low power consumption and high security demanded by today's emerging high volume embedded applications.